Author of The Orphan Dreamer Saga 

J Nell Brown

Author, Traveller, Dog Mom, and most importantly God's Girl

Writing 16+ Coming-of-Age Adventure stories that feature an Epic scale, Kindred Friendships, Inspirational Themes, STEM, A Splash of Romance, and a Fantastical Twist

A Two-Volume New Release from J. Nell Brown is Coming Fall ​of 2023!

Continue the Orphan Dreamer Adventure 

This book is good and scary.

Goodreads Reviewer​

A Novella (Episode #7)

Supernatural Thriller, Coming of Age, Young Adult, Epic Adventure spiced with Light Romance and Comedy


Rated G for language, 16+ for theme

Genre: YA Spiritual Fantasy Fiction


Talks about death

Synopsis: What makes the main villain of the Orphan Dreamer Saga tick? 

HOUSEGUEST reads a little different from the rest of the Orphan Dreamer saga. One word describes HOUSEGUEST―SCARY!

For readers who enjoy reading Dean Koontz and Stephen King, reading HOUSEGUEST will make you want to turn on ALL of the lights and then look under your bed before you close your eyes, so buckle up and continue reading the ORPHAN DREAMER SAGA—an eschatological fantastical coming-of-age thriller tucked into the stories of children entrusted with a Divine mission.

It's almost Hanukkah and then Christmas. Only a year ago, a Jewish family, the Bushcrofts, escaped Nazi Germany. The date is December 11, 1941.

Asher Bushcroft is twelve-years-old, short, and a social outcast. His sister, Natalia, is sixteen, breathtaking, a gifted violinist, and a dancer. They are inseparable, or so it seems. But, every villain has a beginning, and Asher's villainous beginning starts on the same day that the United States enters World War II. Asher barters with a dark force named Nomed in order to win the affections of a popular girl at school.

Nomed vows to assist Asher in his lustful adventure in return for a favor—murder two children to prevent them from thwarting Nomed's plans for world domination.

Will the children survive? If they don't, will you survive?

If you knew your ending, how would you have lived your beginning?

* * *

About the Orphan Dreamer Saga

What if Indiana Jones were a naive girl born into a close-knit African-American family in the South—a girl destined to solve her own DA VINCI CODE but who would rather simply overcome the provincialism of her community and find her own ANNE-OF-GREEN-GABLES-style bosom friend?

The ORPHAN DREAMER SAGA is a seven-novel serial interspersed with seven novellas that intertwine three tales across time and space and tells a sweeping fantastical story, spiced with thrills, stark realities, and comedy. This epic tale weaves an intricate tapestry of divine guidance, faith, isolation, hope, and loss as it follows two children from their beginnings to their ends.


Barnes and Noble

Apple Books



Audiobook Sample


"Fasten your seatbelt. Scary stuff. Well written and I wanted more, more, more."―Amazon Reader

" . . . a gripping and entertaining read."―Chanticleer Book Reviews

" . . . a dark force involved in an intricate plan for world domination, making deals with a middle-schooler . . . ―Ann Castro