J. Nell Brown

Writing for the One

Continue the Orphan Dreamer Adventure 

"An eschatological thriller that makes you feel!"

Amazon Reader

A Novel (Episode #4)

Supernatural Thriller, Coming of Age, Young Adult, Epic Adventure spiced with Light Romance and Comedy


Rated G for language, 16+ for theme


Talks about mental Illness

Shows physical abuse

Synopsis: Two thousand years ago, as Yeshua sat upon the Mount of Olives, His disciples privately came unto him and asked, "Tell us, when shall these things be, and what shall be the sign of thy coming, and of the end of the world?"

And He told them, "you shall hear of wars and rumors of wars . . . but the end is not yet. For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in various places. All these are the beginning of sorrows."

Two thousand years later—the same year John Glenn returns to space—seventeen-year-old Daniela Rose leaves her parents' home in Gainesville, Florida, and travels to Los Alamos, New Mexico to conduct DNA research at the same lab where the atomic bomb was built. 

Her junior year college semester mission is simple—meet a kindred spirit and fill the void in her heart created by the death of her best friend, Ethan. But no different than a nuclear explosion, Destiny obliterates the Orphan Dreamer's wishes of weaving friendship bracelets and catapults this introverted yet precocious teenager into a college-sized nightmarish adventure: 


Friendship and betrayal


A first romance

And the discovery of an Apache-warrior cave painting that will lure Daniela Rose and her new kindred spirit, Limy, onto a quest to find the Ark of the Covenant—humanity's last hope and the antidote to a lethal pandemic.

Will the Orphan Dreamer—Earth's newest kick-butt Indiana Jones—find this long-lost Jewish relic in time and stop Chi. Xi. Stigma's—666's—impending pandemic? Will she discover the identity of 666 before it is too late to destroy this elusive villain's alien soldiers who are training on an invisible planet named Wormwood—soldiers who plan to invade Earth and eradicate every man, woman, and child?

Find the answers to these questions by reading the ORPHAN TREE and the VANISHING SKELETON KEY: episode four within an epic saga. This saga defies time and takes readers from 1018 B.C. into a future of what-ifs. 

What if Indiana Jones were a naive girl born into a close-knit African-American family in the South—a girl destined to solve her own DA VINCI CODE but who would rather simply overcome the provincialism of her community and find her own ANNE-OF-GREEN-GABLES-style bosom friend?

The Orphan Dreamer Saga is a seven-novel serial interspersed with seven novellas that intertwines three tales across time and space. This epic story weaves an intricate tapestry of Divine guidance, faith, isolation, hope, and loss as it follows two children from their beginnings to their ends. 


Barnes and Noble

Apple Books


Audiobook Sample