J. Nell Brown

Writing for the One

Inspirational Author who writes 16+ Coming-of-Age Adventure Stories splashed with Romance and a Supernatural Twist

"Author J. Nell Brown―an Amazon New Release Top Ten Bestseller in Children and Young Adult Fantasy (Time-Travel Fiction)—takes readers on a journey that defies time, from 1018 B.C. to a future of what-ifs, in the second full-length novel of the series: ORPHAN DREAMER and the GLASS TATTOO."

The Orphan Dreamer Saga is . . .

​"A challenging exploration of otherness and self-belief."

—Kirkus Reviews


It's J. Nell Brown, the author of the Orphan Dreamer Saga, a young adult supernatural thriller series that consists of seven novels and seven novellas.

           Because dreams do come true, let's take an adventure with DANIELA ROSE on her Orphan Dreamer's epic journey. 


One girl.

           One boy.

                             One mission.

To protect their home—Earth—from invasion by the planet’s previous occupants.

If they fail, where will we live? 

Find out and by Reading 

Orphan Dreamer and the Missing Arrowhead.

Told in the style of the hit TV show, THIS IS US, the ORPHAN DREAMER SAGA is a modern-day retelling of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES meets THE DA VINCI CODE in a play of fate that will change the destiny of an orphan and the future of humanity.  

Read more about the Orphan Dreamer Saga from Kirkus Reviews

Click for More

The Orphan Dreamer Books

Listed in Order

Purchase and Read

Writing for the One, For when I couldn't walk He carried me.

The Orphan Dreamer Saga: A Young Adult Supernatural Thriller Series

Could Earth’s apocalypse really be worse than puberty for Daniela Rose—a depressive schizophrenic girl destined to meet a mysterious orphan boy who haunts her chaotic dreams?

One girl. 

One boy. 

One mission: to protect their home—Earth—from its previous occupants. If they fail, where will you live?

Born on the same day, an ocean separates them until destiny introduces an orphan boy to a depressive schizophrenic girl inside her chaotic dreams. Is the orphan boy real? If he's not real, does it matter in Earth's fight for survival? 

Meet the Orphan Dreamer, Daniela Rose Cavanaugh—a thirteen-year-old ordinary girl destined for the extraordinary—in the Orphan Dreamer Saga. A transcontinental sweeping love story where ANNE OF GREEN GABLES meets THE DA VINCI CODE in the WAR ROOM, and a twist of fate alters Daniela's dreams, the destiny of an orphan, and the future of humanity in an epic journey that defies time, taking the reader from 1018 B.C. into a future of "what if's."

What if Indiana Jones were a naïve girl born into a close-knit family in the South—a girl destined to solve her own Da Vinci Code, but who would rather simply overcome the provincialism of her community and find her own Anne-of-Green-Gables-style bosom friend?

The ORPHAN DREAMER SAGA is an epic story——told via a seven-novel serial interspersed with seven novellas that intertwine three tales across time and space and reads similar to THIS IS US. This epic eschatological fantastical story weaves an intricate tapestry of divine guidance, faith, isolation, hope, and loss as it follows two children from their beginnings to their ends. If you knew your ending, how would you have lived your beginning?

What are people saying about the Orphan Dreamer Saga?

"It's the start of something amazing."—Heather G.

"Brilliant!"—Reader and Reviewer for "She Laughs Last"

"This saga has taken me on a roller-coaster ride."—J.M. Leech

"Harry Potter meets The Da Vinci Code meets Indiana Jones . . ." —LA Press Release

"An ostracized girl and an abused boy look for acceptance and survival in an eschatological fantasy from Brown. A challenging exploration of otherness and self-belief."—Kirkus Review

"Epic, nicely wrought, evocative. Compelling. Imaginistic. The author offers a stunningly told tale, very dreamy; religious themes secure this as Christian fiction."—Ellie Maas Davis, Ingram Spark Editorial Review

"The dialogue . . . resonates strongly. . . Brown has steeped its pages in a religiosity and portent that add weight to the difficult subject matter. (Danny Rose's and Cillian's) childhoods make for an uncomfortable telling, but they stick in the mind. For these two characters alone, readers may take a leap of faith."—Kirkus Review

"I was a little slow to understand the story or the fact that it was the third in a series. Armed with that knowledge, I was able to grasp an understanding of the story in general. There was no way that I could get away with not reading the rest. The moment I finished the story, I purchased the other two on Amazon and began reading. I’m not yet finished with the second book but I am loving the journey. Thank you for creating the story!" —Reader and Reviewer for "She Laughs Last"

Purchase and Read

Writing Music

Writing Music

What I'm Listening To